Best Photo and Video Delivery Platforms for Professional Photographers in 2026

Galleries, video review tools, and file transfer compared for photographers, videographers, and drone pilots: file limits, branding, revisions, and pricing.

Jackson BridgesFounder & Developer, ShootPortal11 min read
2026 GUIDE

Disclosure:This article is published by ShootPortal, and ShootPortal is one of the products discussed. We've aimed to describe every platform fairly using its official website. Pricing and features last verified ; software changes often, so confirm details on each vendor's site before you buy.

Delivering a still photo is a solved problem. Delivering a four-minute 4K brand film, thirty edited stills, a drone orthomosaic, and a revised cut two days later, to a client who wants to comment on the second version and pay before downloading, is not. That's where most photographers, videographers, and drone operators end up stitching together three or four tools.

A good photo and video delivery platform handles the whole hand-off: big files, a clean viewing experience, feedback on specific moments, your branding, and a download that just works. The trouble is that most products were built for one slice of that. Gallery platforms grew up around weddings and portraits. Video review tools grew up around post-production teams. File transfer services were built to move bytes, not to impress clients.

This guide compares all three categories for working creatives across niches. If you deliver mainly listing media to real estate agents, our real estate delivery software comparison is the more specific read. Prices and file limits come from official vendor pages, checked October 15, 2026.

In this article (10 sections)
  1. Limits of generic tools
  2. Gallery platforms
  3. Video review tools
  4. File limits & branding
  5. Managing revisions
  6. Comparison table
  7. ShootPortal delivery
  8. Recommendations
  9. The bottom line
  10. FAQ

Where email, Google Drive, Dropbox, and WeTransfer fall short

Almost everyone starts with tools they already pay for. They're reliable at moving files. They just aren't delivery platforms.

Email attachments

Fine for a single headshot, useless for anything else. Mail providers cap attachment sizes, clients' inboxes compress or block large files, and there's no way to tell which version is current.

Google Drive

Drive handles very large files (Google states up to 5 TB per file) and storage is inexpensive through Google One plans, from 15 GB free to 5 TB. But the client sees Google's interface, not yours, and there are no approvals, time-stamped video comments, or payment gate. Permission mistakes ("request access") are a common first impression.

Dropbox, Dropbox Transfer, and Replay

Dropbox Transfer is a step up for delivery: Standard and higher plans add custom expiration, passwords, and custom logos and backgrounds. Transfer sizes range from 2 GB on Basic to 100 GB on Standard, and Transfers on Basic and Plus expire after 7 days. Dropbox Replay, a separate add-on, adds frame-level comments and approvals for video. See Dropbox plans and Replay pricing.

WeTransfer

WeTransfer is the default for "just send the file." The free plan allows 10 transfers or 3 GB per rolling 30 days; the top Ultimate plan allows transfers up to 1 TB with branded pages, passwords, and custom expiration. We couldn't verify current prices, so check WeTransfer's pricing page. The catch is that every transfer expires and nothing ties it to the job, the invoice, or the feedback.

For a deeper head-to-head on cloud storage, see Google Drive vs. Dropbox vs. dedicated delivery software.

Client gallery platforms are the natural home for portrait, wedding, and event photographers. They're polished, client-friendly, and most include a store for prints and digital downloads. Video support has improved but still comes with per-plan limits.

Pixieset Client Gallery

The most widely recognized gallery for portrait and wedding photographers

Official site for Pixieset Client Gallery (opens in a new tab)
Pricing
Free (3 GB), Basic $10/mo (10 GB), Plus $20/mo (100 GB), Pro $30/mo (1 TB), Ultimate $50/mo (unlimited); about 20% less billed annually. Official pricing
Best for
Photographers selling prints and downloads who deliver some video.

Where it stands out

  • Integrated store with lab fulfillment
  • Configurable download sizes; custom domain from Basic
  • No stated per-file video size limit

Trade-offs to weigh

  • Video is metered in minutes by plan (Basic: 30 minutes HD)
  • 4K downloads only on Pro and Ultimate
  • No time-stamped video comments found

Pic-Time

Gallery and print-sales platform with generous long-form video

Official site for Pic-Time (opens in a new tab)
Pricing
Free, Beginner $8/mo, Professional $25/mo, Advanced $50/mo (lower billed annually). Official pricing
Best for
Photographers who deliver highlight films alongside galleries.

Where it stands out

  • Featured videos up to 90 minutes / 20 GB, up to 4K
  • Custom branding from Beginner; custom domain from Professional

Trade-offs to weigh

  • Regular clips capped at 3 minutes / 3 GB
  • Commission applies to payments Pic-Time collects on some tiers

ShootProof

Galleries plus contracts and invoicing, commission-free sales

Official site for ShootProof (opens in a new tab)
Pricing
Free (3 GB, photos only), Starter $9.99/mo, Standard $19.99/mo, Professional $31.99/mo, Premium $60/mo. Official pricing
Best for
Studios that want galleries, contracts, and invoices from one vendor.

Where it stands out

  • Commission-free sales on every plan
  • Video up to 4K on paid plans; help docs list files up to 20 GB / 60 minutes

Trade-offs to weigh

  • Video uploads via the web uploader only
  • Download All is disabled above 2,500 files

SmugMug

Unlimited photo storage with portfolio sites and sales

Official site for SmugMug (opens in a new tab)
Pricing
Direct $20/mo, Portfolio $23.50/mo, Pro $37/mo (billed annually); 14-day free trial. Official pricing
Best for
Photographers with large archives who mainly deliver stills.

Where it stands out

  • Unlimited photo storage on all plans
  • Client favoriting and download limits on Pro

Trade-offs to weigh

  • Video capped at 20 minutes and 3 GB per file
  • Video display copies top out at 1080p

Zenfolio

Portfolio, galleries, and selling with an optional booking add-on

Official site for Zenfolio (opens in a new tab)
Pricing
Basic $9/mo, Professional $23/mo, Advanced $40/mo (lower billed annually; an annual promo ran through October 15, 2026). Official pricing
Best for
Photographers who want a portfolio site and galleries in one subscription.

Where it stands out

  • 4K video on Advanced
  • Booking and scheduling included on Advanced

Trade-offs to weigh

  • 7% commerce fee per order on selling plans
  • Zenfolio's own pages give conflicting video size limits, so confirm

Video review tools: built for feedback, not for clients

Post-production teams solved the revision problem years ago with time-coded comments: the reviewer pauses at 0:23, types a note, and the editor sees exactly which frame it refers to. These tools are excellent at that, but most have no payment step, no stills-gallery experience, and no concept of the project around the video.

Frame.io

Adobe's review and approval platform for video teams

Official site for Frame.io (opens in a new tab)
Pricing
Free (2 GB), Pro $15/member/mo, Team $25/member/mo, Enterprise custom; annual saves 13%. Official pricing
Best for
Videographers working with editors or agencies who need frame-accurate review.

Where it stands out

  • Frame-accurate and range-based comments with annotations
  • Files up to 5 TB per asset
  • Branded, passphrase-protected, expiring shares on Pro

Trade-offs to weigh

  • No payments or print store
  • Priced per member, which adds up for small teams

Vimeo review links

Time-coded review built into a video host

Official site for Vimeo review links (opens in a new tab)
Pricing
We couldn't verify current plan prices. See Vimeo's plans page.
Best for
Videographers who already host on Vimeo and want lightweight client review.

Where it stands out

  • Time-coded comments on the timeline; reviewers don't need an account
  • New versions keep the same link and comment history

Trade-offs to weigh

  • Free plans get one review link per video and no password protection
  • Custom branding is paid-only

Wipster

Simple review and approval for small creative teams

Official site for Wipster (opens in a new tab)
Pricing
Light $9.95/mo billed annually ($11.95 monthly, 50 GB); Team $19.95/user/mo annually. Official pricing
Best for
Small video teams wanting an affordable review tool.

Where it stands out

  • Free trial with no credit card
  • Custom branding and team-only comments on Team

Trade-offs to weigh

  • No payments or client gallery
  • Branding requires the per-user Team plan

Dropbox Replay belongs in this group too: it supports uploads up to 150 GB, media up to 12 hours, real-time comments and markup, and approvals, as an add-on to a Dropbox plan.

For a fuller comparison of review tools, see our video review and approval software guide.

Large video files, downloads, and branding

The quickest way to rule platforms out is to check their per-file video limits against your longest deliverable. A 4K drone reel or an unedited event recording can blow past a 3 GB cap easily.

Published video and transfer limits, October 2026
PlatformPublished per-file limitNotes
Google DriveUp to 5 TBStorage limited by your Google One plan
Frame.ioUp to 5 TB per asset (web app)Storage by plan and member count
Dropbox Transfer2 GB (Basic) to 100 GB (Standard+)250 GB on Business Plus/Enterprise or with Replay
Dropbox Replay150 GB uploads, up to 12 hr mediaPaid add-on
WeTransfer3 GB per 30 days free; up to 1 TB per transfer (Ultimate)Transfers expire
Pic-Time3 GB clips; 20 GB / 90 min featured videosMobile app uploads capped at 1 GB
ShootProofUp to 20 GB / 60 minPer an older help article
SmugMug3 GB / 20 minDisplay copies up to 1080p
PixiesetNo per-file limit statedMetered by plan video minutes
ShootPortalResumable uploads for large filesAsk us about very large projects
Limits from each vendor's official help or pricing pages, checked October 15, 2026. Zenfolio's pages conflict (3 GB vs. 20 GB), so it's omitted; confirm on Zenfolio's site.

The download experience

Clients judge delivery by the download, not the upload. Check three things on every platform you trial: whether a client can grab one file or a ZIP of the whole set, whether they can pick a web size or the full original, and what happens when they open the link on a phone over cellular data. Expiring links are a hidden cost here: a client who needs a file six months later shouldn't have to email you.

Client branding

Branding ranges from a logo on a third-party page to a custom domain. Gallery platforms are generally strongest here. File transfer tools reserve branding for upper tiers (Dropbox Standard and up, WeTransfer Ultimate). Video review tools tend to gate it behind paid or per-member plans. Decide whether a custom domain matters to you, because it's the line that most often pushes you into a pricier tier.

We cover bitrate math, email limits, and transfer options in how to send large video files to clients.

Managing revisions without the email thread

Revisions are where delivery breaks down for most creative businesses. A client watches the cut on their phone, sends "can we change the part near the beginning with the drone shot?", and you spend the next ten minutes scrubbing to guess which part they mean. Multiply that by two rounds and three stakeholders.

A workable revision process has four parts:

  1. Feedback anchored to a moment. Comments tied to a timestamp (and ideally a spot on the frame) remove the guessing.
  2. Numbered versions.Everyone should know whether they're looking at v2 or v3, and old comments should stay attached to the version they were written on.
  3. Resolve and reopen. You need to mark a note as handled and have the client confirm.
  4. Explicit approval.A clear "approved" replaces "looks good I think?" and tells you when to send the final invoice.
Listing_Film_v2.mp4v1v2
  • 0:09Can we hold on the front elevation a beat longer?
  • 0:23Swap this kitchen clip for the wide angle.
  • 0:41Music fade is perfect.
Conceptual diagram: time-stamped comments pinned to points in a video, across numbered versions.

Frame.io, Vimeo review, and Dropbox Replay all handle the first two well. ShootPortal adds the same idea to a client portal: comments are time-stamped and can be pinned to a spot on the frame, replies are threaded, notes can be resolved and reopened, and videos carry numbered versions. Photos and other deliverables use simpler approve-or-reject feedback with a written note, without pinned comments.

Photo and video delivery platforms compared

A side-by-side view of the categories. "Not stated" means we couldn't confirm it on an official page.

Photo and video delivery platform comparison, October 2026
PlatformCategoryTime-coded video commentsPayments / storeStarting paid price
ShootPortalClient portalPinned to frame, versionsStripe, optional download lockSee pricing
PixiesetGalleryNot foundStore$10/mo
Pic-TimeGalleryNot foundStore$8/mo
ShootProofGalleryNot foundStore, invoices$9.99/mo
SmugMugGalleryNot foundPortfolio plan+$20/mo (annual)
ZenfolioGalleryNot foundProfessional+$9/mo
Frame.ioVideo reviewFrame-accurateNo$15/member/mo
Vimeo reviewVideo reviewYesNot statedNot verified
WipsterVideo reviewNot stated on pricing pageNo$9.95/mo (annual)
Dropbox + ReplayStorage / reviewWith ReplayNo$9.99/mo (Plus)
WeTransferFile transferNoNoNot verified
Google DriveStorageNoNo$1.99/mo (100 GB)
Prices are monthly list prices from official pages on October 15, 2026 (Pixieset, Pic-Time, ShootProof, SmugMug, Zenfolio, Frame.io, Wipster, Dropbox, Google One). Vimeo and WeTransfer prices could not be verified; see Vimeo and WeTransfer.

How ShootPortal handles photo and video delivery

ShootPortal is our product, built by the owner of a drone photography business who was tired of sending footage through one tool, feedback through another, and invoices through a third. It isn't a gallery store, and it isn't a post-production suite. It's a branded client portal where delivery is one stage of the project.

  • Mixed media in one place: photos in folders, video files, YouTube embeds, Kuula 360 tours, documents, and 3D or mapping embeds from Matterport, Polycam, Sketchfab, DroneDeploy, Pix4D, and others. That last part matters for drone operators delivering models and maps, not just footage.
  • Large uploads: resumable uploads, so a big file can recover from a dropped connection.
  • Review: time-stamped, frame-pinned video comments with numbered versions; approve or reject on every other deliverable with written feedback.
  • Downloads: single files or a ZIP, with photos available as Print (original) or MLS (2048px) sizes.
  • Payment: request payment from the project through your own Stripe account, and optionally keep downloads locked until the final payment clears.
  • Sharing and branding:your logo, colors, light or dark theme, and a custom domain; share links for people who don't have an account.
  1. Step 1

    Upload

    Photos, video, tours, and documents attach to the project.

  2. Step 2

    Review

    Client approves items or requests changes with written feedback.

  3. Step 3

    Pay

    Optional: downloads stay locked until the final payment clears.

  4. Step 4

    Download

    Full-resolution or MLS-sized files, one at a time or as a ZIP.

Conceptual diagram: upload, client review, optional payment, then download.

What it doesn't do: there's no print store, no favorites or proofing hearts, and no adaptive streaming. Wedding and portrait photographers who earn from print sales are better served by a gallery platform. Clients also sign in to the portal rather than opening a login-free page.

Choosing the right platform for your work

Weddings, portraits, events

Pixieset, Pic-Time, or ShootProof

Galleries, favorites, and print stores are the core product; video is a bonus.

Commercial video with an editor or agency

Frame.io

Frame-accurate review and huge file limits, priced per team member.

Already on Vimeo

Vimeo review links

Time-coded comments and version history without another subscription.

One-off large transfers

Dropbox Transfer or WeTransfer

Fast and familiar; no review or payment step.

Real estate listings

A listing delivery platform

MLS sizing and tour embeds matter more than galleries. See our real estate delivery guide.

Photo, video, and drone deliverables per client

ShootPortal

One portal for review, payment, and download across every media type.

The bottom line

There's no single best photo and video delivery platform, because "delivery" means different things across niches. A wedding photographer selling albums needs a gallery store. An editor working with an agency needs frame-accurate review. A drone operator handing over footage, stills, and a 3D model to a commercial client needs all of it in one place, with the invoice attached.

If that last description sounds like your week, see how ShootPortal's delivery and review work, or keep comparing in our photography CRM guide.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best way to deliver large video files to clients?

Use a platform with a high per-file limit and a client-friendly page. Frame.io and Google Drive accept files up to 5 TB, Dropbox Replay up to 150 GB, and Pic-Time featured videos up to 20 GB. Platforms with resumable uploads, like ShootPortal, reduce failed uploads on big files.

Is WeTransfer good enough for professional delivery?

For a single transfer, yes. But transfers expire, branding needs a paid plan, and there's no approval, revision, or payment step, so most professionals use it alongside, not instead of, a delivery platform.

Which platforms support time-stamped video comments?

Frame.io, Vimeo review links, Dropbox Replay, Filestage, and ShootPortal support time-coded video comments. We found no evidence of the feature in Pixieset, Pic-Time, ShootProof, SmugMug, or Zenfolio.

Can clients pay before downloading their photos and videos?

Gallery platforms sell prints and downloads through a store. ShootPortal can keep downloads locked until the final project payment clears, while clients still view everything. File transfer and video review tools generally have no payment step.

Does ShootPortal have a print store or client favorites?

No. ShootPortal focuses on project delivery, review, and payment. Photographers who rely on print sales or favorites-based proofing should consider Pixieset, Pic-Time, ShootProof, SmugMug, or Zenfolio.

Written by

Jackson Bridges

  • Founder & Developer of ShootPortal
  • Owner of Swift Aerial Media
  • FAA Part 107 Certified Drone Pilot

Jackson owns Swift Aerial Media, a drone photography business, and built ShootPortal to run the requests, scheduling, client communication, payments, and media delivery that come with it. He writes about the business side of aerial and real estate media.

ShootPortal

Photos, video, and feedback in one branded portal.

Upload any media type, collect time-stamped video comments across versions, take payment through your own Stripe account, and deliver downloads clients can find again.

14 days free. No credit card required.

Then $29/month, or $24/month billed annually.

Keep reading

All articles

14 days free. No credit card required.